Karnataka Truck Drivers to Go on Indefinite Strike from January 17

Truck Drivers

Photo by Sander Yigin on Unsplash

Truck drivers, taxi, and bus operators have initiated a nationwide strike in opposition to the provision of a ₹7 lakh penalty and a 10-year jail term for hit-and-run cases. In line with this, truck drivers across Karnataka have announced an indefinite strike starting on January 17. The Federation of Karnataka Lorry Owners’ Association made this announcement on Saturday, citing their protest against the stringent laws for hit-and-run cases under the new Bharatiya Nyay Sanhita (BNS).

The All-India Motor Transport Congress has expressed concerns that these provisions, which are yet to be enforced, can result in undue harassment and is calling for an immediate recall. The strike serves as a means to draw attention to the potential consequences of these laws and to urge the authorities to reconsider their implementation.

Earlier, on January 2, the All India Motor Transport Association (AIMTC) decided to end the nationwide protests by truck drivers against the new hit-and-run law. This decision came after a meeting with Union Home Secretary Ajay Bhalla, during which the government assured the members of the transport body that the new laws have not been put into effect and will only be implemented after consultation with AIMTC.

Also Read
Bajaj Chetak Premium Update: Longer Range, Higher Speed, and More Features
IndiGo Passenger Complains About Worm in Her Sandwich, Airline Investigating the Matter
MoU for greener railways with a US agency is approved by the cabinet.


Leave a Comment

Discover more from 4newser

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading